Book a room

Feel the Beat


Meet & Greet with the Jaz Stuttgart DJs

Feel the local beat at JazAt both Jaz Amsterdam and Stuttgart, we have a bunch of top DJs for an unique live experience programme at our Rhythms Bar & Kitchen.

 

Just sitting there eating is so yesterday, at Jaz you get live beats served with your dinner! We have special DJs in house that we would like to introduce to you. Let’s start with our hotel baby, Jaz Stuttgart

article Jaz Stuttgart DJs interviews
Jaz Stuttgart DJ Tobi Grimm

If you think Stuttgart is just 90ies rap, you’re wrong. The vibe of the city varies from R’n’B to house music. We have the perfect tune makers for it and proudly introduce our resident DJs Tobi Grimm and The Ruukie, who are not your usual lifestyle DJs. They know the sound of Jaz! We interviewed and asked them how and why they became "jazy" DJs and other things we always wanted to know.

 

Tobi Grimm plays on the turntable in his spare time – or as a side gig in the case of Jaz Stuttgart. He brings the bacon home – literally – as a professional chef, where he used to work at hotels as well. Now he’s setting the mood during dinners at Rhythms Bar & Kitchen with fresh beats instead of dishes. His specialty is House and Electro music.

 

Tobi, what song would you connect with Jaz?

I always have to think of “Purple Rain” by Prince.

 

Tell us how you became a DJ.

It all started at private parties, especially in the early hours of the next morning after clubbing. My first gig was in a planetarium, where they did live light effects to the music I played, which was a great experience. Other gigs like at Stuttgart clubs like Finca and Holzapfel followed and some open air festivals. I also get booked a lot by companies. Electronic music is everywhere…

 

What inspired you to become a DJ?

My passion for music. I want people to feel the same thing if they listen to my music.

 

What's the worst song request you've ever had?

“Do you have something from Helene Fischer?” (German Schlager singer)

 

If you could only listen to one song, which one would it be?

The Soundtrack from Cast Away: Alain Silvestre – End Track

Jaz Stuttgart DJ Tobi Grimm portrait
Jaz Stuttgart DJ the ruukie playing

If you've been to Rhythms Bar & Kitchen at Jaz Stuttgart before, you might know The Ruukie. He’s a multi-talent that works as a Food Entertainer in our restaurant. He loves his work place, since he spends some of his days behind the DJ desk as The Ruukie and serves you fresh House, Latin and Old School tracks instead of your lunch or dinner.

 

Hey Ruukie, what made you become a DJ?
It started in 1994 with my neighbor, who is also DJ and lent me his old record player and a record. Back then I was already interested in hip-hop and the whole scene - he showed me everything and I was allowed to accompany him to the club where he was DJing. At some point I started DJing. That's how my passion started. Eventually I bought my own record player and became a DJ myself.

If Jaz had a soundtrack, what would be the three songs?
That would be a mix of R’n’B/Soul like A Jah - Lingala and Jeff Bernat - Hypnotized but also German rap with House Brand - Girl No 1

 

What was your worst music wish so far?
At a Hip Hop party someone actually came up to me and said, "I do not know what the group is called but can you play I'm blue dabedi dabeda?"

 

Which musician inspired you the most?
Teddy Riley of Blackstreet, he started New Jack Swing, the first form of R'n'B. Since he was technically also a producer, he is a role model for me both as a musician and as a producer.

 

If only you could hear a song in your life, what would that be?

I love music, that would be really hard for me (laughs) ...difficult. There was a song I had recorded on both sides of the tape back then when we still had Walkman - Monica with "Ain’t nobody". I heard that track all the time.

Jaz Stuttgart DJ the ruukie

What is the music style that best describes Stuttgart?

I think the roots of German breakdance and hip hop are in Stuttgart. For me, it still represents Hip Hop music like Fanta 4, Freundeskreis or the Stiva Twins.

 

Which song do you associate with Jaz Stuttgart?
Neo Soul like Eric Roberson - Rock with U because it combines soul, hip-hop and jazz music and the music encourages me to calm down and chill out. The hip-hop part is like the casual lifestyle of the hotel, where you get to work with sneakers and talk casually to colleagues and guests. Neo Soul has exactly these components. You also need soul for work - because without soul and passion you're not good at your job.

Jaz Stuttgart DJ turntables
back

Zimmer Buchen

Feel the Beat


Meet & Greet mit den Jaz Stuttgart DJs

In unseren Hotels in Amsterdam und Stuttgart gibt es eine Reihe von Top-DJs für ein einzigartiges Live-Erlebnisprogramm in der Rhythms Bar & Kitchen.
Bei uns bekommt man Live-Beats mit dem Abendessen serviert, denn wir haben von täglich bis mehrmals wöchentlich Specials DJs im Haus.

 

Wir möchten hier ein paar DJs vorstellen: Beginnen wir mit unserem neuen Jaz-Baby, dem Hotel in Stuttgart!

Bericht Jaz Stuttgart DJs interviews
Jaz Stuttgart DJ Tobi Grimm

Wenn Du glaubst Stuttgart bietet nur 90iger Rap, dann liegst Du falsch! Der Vibe der Stadt geht von R'n'B bis zu House Musik, daher stellen wir stolz unsere Resident-DJs Tobi Grimm und The Ruukie vor, die alles andere als gewöhnlich sind. Die beiden kennen den Beat von Jaz! Deswegen haben wir sie interviewt und gefragt wie sie zu einem „jazy“ DJ wurden und andere Dinge, die wir schon immer wissen wollten.

 

Tobi Grimm begann mit dem Auflegen als Hobby – und arbeitet heute als Side Gig unter anderem im Jaz Stuttgart. Hauptberuflich macht er sonst etwas ganz anderes: Profikoch. Aber beim Dinner in der Rhythms Bar & Kitchen gibt’s frische Beats statt frischer Gerichte von ihm! Was außer House- und Electro-Musik noch seine Spezialität ist, haben wir ihn hier gefragt:

 

Hey Tobi, welches Lied verbindest Du mit Jaz?

Ich muss immer an „Purple Rain“ von Prince denken.

Beschreib doch kurz Deinen Werdegang als DJ.

Auf privaten Partys fing das Ganze an, überwiegend in den frühen Morgenstunden nach der Clubnacht. Mein erster großer Auftritt war in einem Planetarium, dort machten Sie Live-Visuals (Lichteffekte) zu meiner Musik, die ich gespielt habe - abgefahrenes Erlebnis. Es folgten weitere Auftritte im Club (Finca, Holzapfel) sowie mehrere Open-Airs. Auch Firmen greifen gerne auf mich zurück. Elektronische Musik ist überall!

 

Was hat dich dazu gebracht DJ zu werden?

Meine Leidenschaft für die Musik. Ich möchte, dass Menschen das gleiche fühlen wie ich, wenn Sie die Musik hören.

 

Wenn Jaz einen Soundtrack hätte, was für drei Songs wären dabei?

Ich tendiere eher zu einem… Mitarbeiter des Jaz Stuttgart meinten sie verbinden Pick Up von DJ Koze im Original von Melba Moore (Pick Me Up, I'll Dance) mit mir und dem Hotel.

 

Was war Dein schlimmster Musikwunsch bisher?

Hast du was von Helene Fischer?

Jaz Stuttgart DJ Tobi Grimm portrait
Jaz Stuttgart DJ the ruukie

Wenn Du schon mal in der Rhythms Bar & Kitchen im Jaz Stuttgart warst, kennst Du wahrscheinlich schon "The Ruukie". Er ist ein Multi Talent als Food Entertainer in unserem Restaurant. Und weil er seinen Job liebt, verbringt er einige Tage als "The Ruukie" am DJ-Pult und serviert frische House-, Latin- und Oldschool-Tracks anstelle von Deinem Lunch oder Dinner!


Ruukie, beschreib uns kurz wie Du zum DJ wurdest.
Es fing 1994 mit meinem Nachbarn an, der auch DJ ist und mir seinen alten Plattenspieler und eine Platte geliehen hat. Ich war damals schon an Hip Hop und der Szene interessiert – er hat mir alles gezeigt und ich durfte ihn in den Club, wo er als DJ aufgelegt hat, begleiten. Irgendwann habe ich dann selbst aufgelegt. So hat meine Leidenschaft begonnen. Dann habe ich mir einen eigenen Plattenspieler gekauft und wurde selbst DJ. 

Wenn Jaz einen Soundtrack hätte, was für drei Songs wären dabei? 

Das wären einmal R’n’B tracks wie A Jah – Lingala oder Jeff Bernat - Hypnotized und deutscher Rap wie Hausmarke – Mädchen N. 1

 

Was war Dein schlimmster Musikwunsch bisher?

Auf einer Hip Hop Party kam jemand tatsächlich zu mir und meinte „Ich weiß nicht wie die Gruppe heißt aber kannst du I'm blue dabedi dabeda spielen?“

 

Wenn Du nur noch ein Lied in deinen Leben hören könntest, welches wäre das?

Ich liebe Musik, das wäre echt schwer für mich (lacht)… schwierig. Es gab ein Lied, was ich damals, als man noch Walkman hatte, auf beiden Seiten der Kassette bespielt hatte – das war damals Monica „Ain’t nobody“. Das war so mein Track, den ich dauernd gehört hatte.

Jaz Stuttgart DJ the ruukie

Was ist der Musikstil der Stuttgart am besten beschreibt?

Ich denke, dass Breakdance und Hip Hop aus Stuttgart kommen. Für mich präsentiert es immer noch Hip Hop Musik wie Fanta 4, Freundeskreis oder die Stiva Twins.

 

Welches Lied verbindest Du mit dem Jaz Stuttgart?

Neo Soul wie Eric Roberson – Rock with U, weil es Soul, Hip Hop und Jazz Musik vereint und die Musik mich zum Runterkommen und Chillen animiert. Der Hip Hop Teil ist der lässige Lifestyle des Hotels, wo man mit Sneakers zur Arbeit kommt und alle duzt, was genau das Lied ausmacht und wie Neo Soul diese Komponente hat. Soul sollte man auch bei der Arbeit haben – denn ohne Seele und Leidenschaft funktioniert das nicht.

Stuttgart DJ im Rhythms Bar & Kitchen
zurück zur Übersicht