Book a room

Live Music Hot Spots: Amsterdam


The Music City

We are Jaz in the City and we're all about music. Amsterdam has a lot to do with music, so we decided to point you in the right direction when it comes to music in real life. We will take you to some small spots and some loud spaces with this lightning guide!

tip

Small and Cosy Places

Jazz Cafe Alto is a small and cosy brown bar located near Leidseplein that has a small stage in the back. You can find live jazz bands on certain nights. Make sure to check out their schedule so you'll be sure to visit Alto when there's live music. 

The Waterhole is another place that's nice and cosy even though it's slightly bigger. It appeals mainly to the rock crowd with pool tables and a small stage for live bands! It is located near Leidseplein so you could check it out if you're in the center of Amsterdam. 

Our very own Rhythms Bar & Kitchen has an awesome assortment of DJs and live musicians that play here every night! It's a very open and colourful place to be and the sound carries really well wherever you are in Rhythms! The type of music played depends on the night but be sure to check the schedule when you're in the hotel to see who you'll listen to during dinner or a drink.

Medium Sized Concert Venues

If you want to go to a bigger venue but still have a sorta intimate experience with a performance you need to go to either Paradiso or Melkweg. They are both small venues that can boast big performances and up n’ coming artists! Back in the day Paradiso, a.k.a the “church of music”, had performances from Lenny Kravitz and more recently a band by the name of “The Internet” showed what they are made of. Melkweg is known for a lot of its electronic music acts as well as hip hop sounds from both local and international performers. Make sure to check their websites during the time you are visiting and you might be able to hear some great new sounds or experience a close up concert with a big artist!

Big and Flashy Arenas

You might already know this but Jaz in the City Amsterdam is right next to the Ziggo Dome, Johan Cruyff Arena and tiny walk away from AFAS Live. These three places are the trifecta of major music venues of Amsterdam. Ziggo Dome has the majority of headlining acts like the Jonas Brothers, Adele, Drake and even Slipknot. AFAS Live also boasts big musical performers of our time (for example, “Tyler, the Creator” who recently won a grammy for the best rap album) at their venue! The Johan Cruyff Arena is usually the home of the local football team Ajax but on occasion hosts big acts from The Rolling Stones and even Beyoncé! 

Now that you have this info, make sure to check these musical places out during your visit and book a stay at Jaz in the City for your stay in this rhythmic city of Amsterdam!

back

Zimmer Buchen

Live Music Hot Spots: Amsterdam


The Music City

Wir sind Jaz in the City und bei uns dreht sich alles um Musik. Online, vor Ort, überall um uns herum und ganz besonders in Amsterdam. Deshalb folgen in diesem Blog die musikalischen Geheimtipps und atemberaubende Veranstaltungsorte in Amsterdam, also bleibt dran und genießt die Show.

Tipp

Kleine gemütliche Orte

Jazz Cafe Alto ist eine kleine gemütliche Bar in der Nähe des Leidseplein. Auf einer kleinen Bühne spielen an bestimmten Tagen lässige Jazz Bands, live und in Farbe. Schaut Euch einfach online den Veranstaltungskalender an um sicher zu sein, dass Ihr die Bar besucht, wenn auch wirklich live Musik gespielt wird.

The Waterhole ist zwar etwas größer, aber dennoch mit der richtigen Portion Gemütlichkeit. Ausgerichtet auf ein eher rockaffines Publikum gibt es hier nicht nur eine Bühne für live Auftritte, sondern auch Billardtische für gesellige Abende. Das The Waterhole liegt wie das Jazz Cafe Alto in der Nähe vom Leidseplein. Ihr könnt also beides perfekt mit einander verbinden, wenn Ihr in der Stadtmitte von Amsterdam seid.

In unserer eigenen Rhythms Bar & Kitchen spielt jeden Abend die Musik. Egal ob via Mikrofon oder Turntables, der Sound ist überall perfekt und genre-übergreifend. Checkt einfach unser monthly programme für mehr Infos zu unseren daily Beats und Performances unserer genialen Live-Musiker und DJs.

Mittelgroße Konzerthallen

Wenn Du eher größere aber trotzdem noch überschaubare Konzerte magst, dann schaue auf jeden Fall im Paradiso oder Melkweg vorbei. Beides sind kleinere Veranstaltungsorte an denen jedoch großes geschieht, vor allem bei Konzerten von neuen, aufsteigenden Künstlern. Das Paradiso, auch genannt „the church of music“, hat schon viele Talente wie z.B. Lenny Kravitz von Anfang an mitbegleitet. Etwas aktueller, der Auftritt von „The Internet“, die direkt gezeigt haben, wo die Reise hingeht. Das Melkweg ist ein großartiger Ort für Elektro und Hip-Hop Musik von lokalen aber auch internationalen Talenten. In beiden Fällen gilt: Augen auf die Webseite für neue Sounds und Live-Erfahrungen.

Große pulsierende Orte

Falls Ihr es noch nicht wusstet, unser Jaz in the City Amsterdam ist direkt neben dem bekannten Ziggo Dome, der Johan Cruyff Arena und nur ein paar wenige Minuten zu Fuß vom AFAS Live entfernt. Alle Drei bilden zusammen DIE Referenz für große Veranstaltungen in Amsterdam. Im Ziggo Dome treten die angesagtesten Künstler wie die Jonas Brothers, Adele, Drake oder sogar Slipknot auf. Im AFAS Live performen ebenfalls große Talente wie z.B. „Tyler, the Creator“, welcher erst kürzlich einen Grammy für das beste Rap Album gewann. Die Johan Cruyff Arena ist normalerweise das zu Hause der Ajax Fußballmannschaft aber in bestimmten Momenten wird die Arena zur Bühne für große Auftritte wie beispielsweise die der Rolling Stones oder Beyoncé.

Lust auf mehr Musik? Dann buche jetzt Deinen Jaz in the City Amsterdam Aufenthalt und erlebe die musikalische Seite Amsterdams hautnah.

zurück zur Übersicht