Book a room

Night @ the Museum

Amsterdam can easily be called “rich” when talking about big and famous museums. The Rijksmuseum, The van Gogh Museum and the Stedelijk are within walking distance of each other.

Are these museum worth the visit? Of course! But we can imagine that at one point you want something else. Or maybe it is not your first time in Amsterdam and you have already been to let’s say the Anne Frank House. What to visit next? No problem – Team Jaz Amsterdam to the rescue.

article Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Museum Night
Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Cat Cabinet

Cat Cabinet

 

#catsofinstagram is one of the biggest hashtags out there and being called a “cat lady” isn’t a a bad thing anymore. People are mad about their cats and so is John.

 

In Amsterdam you can find a museum called the Cat Cabinet. This museum was founded by John Pierpont Morgan, in memory of his tomcat. The collection is based around the role of cats in art and culture throughout history. Fun fact: this canal house is used in the film Ocean’s Twelve and the building is a true treat.


Cat Cabinet, Herengracht 497

Electric Ladyland

 

The world’s first museum of fluorescent art! Electric Ladyland is a tiny museum for all things Fluor. The owner (with always a smile on his face) has a passion for rocks and natural occurring fluorescent minerals and displays a collection of these minerals and fluorescent artwork. Best thing: the large fluorescent environment where visitors can temporarily become part of the art.

 

Electric Ladyland, Tweede Leliedwarsstraat 5

Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Electric Ladyland Museum
Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Vrolik Museum

Vrolik Museum

 

How we would describe Vorlik Museum in two words? Fascinatingly macabre.

 

Home to an extraordinary collection of human body parts accrued by medical professor Gerardus Vrolik in the 19th century. This collection contains conserved anatomical specimens, skulls and even a Siamese twin and cyclopean baby.

 

 

Vrolik Museum, Meibergdreef 9

back

Zimmer Buchen

Night @ the Museum

Wenn es um große und berühmte Museen geht, kann Amsterdam in jedem Fall als „reich“ bezeichnet werden. Das Rijksmuseum, das Van Gogh Museum und das Stedelijk Museum liegen nur wenige Gehminuten voneinander entfernt.

Aber lohnt es sich denn auch, diese Museen zu besuchen? Ja, auf jeden Fall! Wir können uns aber gut vorstellen, dass Sie auch einmal etwas anderes sehen möchten. Und vielleicht sind Sie ja auch nicht das erste Mal in Amsterdam - und im Anne Frank Haus waren Sie auch schon. Sie wissen nicht, was Sie als Nächstes anschauen sollen? Kein Problem – das Team Jaz Amsterdam hilft Ihnen da gerne weiter.

Bericht Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Museum Night
Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Cat Cabinet

The Cat Cabinet - das Katzenkabinett

 

#catsofinstagram gehört zu den beliebtesten Hashtags, und wenn jemand als „Cat Lady”, als „Kratzbürste“ bezeichnet wird, so ist das heutzutage auch keine Beleidigung mehr. Die Leute sind verrückt nach ihren Katzen, und John auch.

In Amsterdam gibt es ein Museum mit dem Namen „Cat Cabinet“. Gegründet wurde es von John Pierpont Morgan zu Erinnerung an seinen Kater. Das Museum steht ganz im Zeichen der Katze und beleuchtet die Rolle dieser Tiere in der Kunst und Kultur im Laufe der Jahrhunderte. Interessant ist auch, dass der Film Ocean’s Twelve in dem Kanalhaus spielt und das Gebäude ein echtes Juwel ist.


Cat Cabinet, Herengracht 497

Electric Ladyland Museum

 

Das weltweit erste Museum für fluoreszierende Kunst! Electric Ladyland ist ein kleines Museum für alle fluoreszierenden Dinge. Der Inhaber (der stets ein Lächeln im Gesicht trägt) hat eine Leidenschaft für Steine und fluoreszierende Mineralien und präsentiert diese den Besuchern zusammen mit seinen fluoreszierenden Kunstwerken. Und das Beste an allem: In der fluoreszierenden Umgebung des Museums können sich Besucher selbst in eine fluoreszierende Skulptur einbringen.

 

Electric Ladyland, Tweede Leliedwarsstraat 5

Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Electric Ladyland Museum
Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Vrolik Museum

Vrolik Museum

 

Wie würden Sie das Vrolik Museum in zwei Worten beschreiben? Faszinierend makaber.

Eine außergewöhnliche Sammlung verschiedenster menschlicher Körperteile, die von dem Medizinprofessor Gerardus Vrolik im 19. Jahrhundert zusammengestellt wurde. Die Sammlung beherbergt eine Menge anatomischer Präparate, Schädel, siamesische Zwillinge und sogar Zyklopenbabys.

 

Vrolik Museum, Meibergdreef 9

zurück zur Übersicht