Book a room

Dutch Courage


How do you drink it?

Genever (jenever in Dutch) is Holland’s national spirit, and an absolute ‘must-drink’ when visiting Amsterdam. This spirit packed with history, tradition, diversity and flavor was once known as ‘Dutch Courage’ and often referred to as Dutch gin. 

article Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Dutch Courage
Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Dutch Courage

Some history

Around 1664 genever became popular internationally as the English Navy was fighting the Dutch at sea. The English discovered the Dutch tradition of taking a shot of genever before going to battle, hence the nickname ‘Dutch Courage’.

 

Your order: a kopstoot (head butt)

 

An ice-cold jonge jenever poured in a tulip glass next to a fresh draft beer. Slurp the jenever in front of the bar and drink the rest of the glass in one go. Wash down the genever with the beer. But next to the traditional way genever is perfect in cocktails. Don’t believe us?

 

Come try it yourself in our bar Rhythms Bar&Kitchen. Cheers! 

back

Zimmer Buchen

Dutch Courage


Wie muss man Dutch Courage trinken?

Genever (jenever auf Niederländisch) ist der holländische Nationalschnaps und ein absolutes Muss, wenn man Amsterdam besucht. Der Schnaps ist vollgepackt mit Geschichte, Tradition, Vielfalt und Geschmack und wurde früher auch als „Dutch Courage“, also „Holländischer Mut“, bezeichnet. Heute wird er oft auch der holländische Gin genannt.

Bericht Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Dutch Courage
Jaz Hotel Amsterdam - Dutch Courage

Ein bisschen Geschichte

Um 1664 wurde Genever international bekannt, als die englische Marine die Holländer auf hoher See bekriegte. Die Engländer entdeckten so die holländische Tradition ein Glas Genever zu trinken, bevor diese in die Schlacht zogen. Daher stammt der Name „Dutch Courage“.

 

Deine Bestellung: a kopstoot (Kopfstoß)

 

Also, ein eiskaltes jonge jenever eingeschenkt in einem Tulpenglas, neben einem frisch gezapften Bier. Schlürf‘ das Genever direkt vor der Bar und trink‘ den Rest des Glas auf einmal aus. Spül‘ das Genever mit Bier runter. Aber neben dem traditionellen Weg Genever zu trinken, macht der Schnaps sich auch richtig gut in Cocktails.

 

Überzeugt Euch selbst und probiert es aus in unserer Rhythms Bar&Kitchen! Cheers!

zurück zur Übersicht